Stornoway Running and Athletics Club

Wacky Races series 2018-19

Wacky Race 3 (SRAC Christmas Handicap) – Saturday 22nd December

For this race you have the option of the 5.3 mile (8.5km) or 4.1 mile (6.6km) ‘traditional’ Castle grounds loops.

The race will be a morning start, times TBC. Meeting at the Golf Club car park. Please try and park elsewhere and walk to the golf club if you can, space is always tight there and we don’t want to upset the golfers – thank you 🙂 

5.3 mile (8.5km) route

4.1 mile (6.6km) route


Wacky Race 2 – Thursday 22nd November

Race 2 results click here

Watch the finsh line cam here

5k town loop, meet at the Isles FM car park on Seaforth Road.

First runner will be off at 5.44pm, please arrive between 5.30-40 to get your number and for a wee briefing.

The course will be three times anti-clockwise round the Seaforth Rd – Sandwick Rd – Island Rd – Seaview Terr – Seaforth Rd loop. Starting and finishing in the cark park behind the Isles FM building. The run will be on the pavements but please be careful crossing the junctions at Engies and on Island Road. Please be prepared to stop for cars.

Its the same route that we use each year for the Wacky races but there will be flour arrows on the pavements at all of the turnings.

Wacky Race 1 – Thursday 25th October

Race 1 Results click here

Watch the finish line cam here 

5k loop in the Castle Grounds

Meet between 5 & 5:15pm at the Museum car park.

First Runner goes off to 5:30pm.

The route will start at the very back of the museum car park near the secret garden, the route will be run clockwise. Start by heading down the road next to the Woodlands centre, then run round the front of Crusty’s cottage and continue along the shore road right down to the mouth of the Creed. The route then goes up the Creed until you reach the wee garden next to the iron well, here you take the turn off to the right immediately after the garden. Then just follow the main path back towards the Castle, finishing at the red gate close to the College entrance.

All of the turnings in the route will be marked with white flour arrows!

Wacky Race Results: 

Race 1 Results
Race 2 Results

What are the Wacky Races?

The Wacky Races are a series of mostly 5k handicap races that take place in the Castle grounds or streets of Stornoway over the winter. In a handicap race it is possible for anyone to win! With slower runners setting off first and the fastest last the aim is that everyone finishes roughly at the same time. Your start time is based on your best recent 5k, 10k or wacky race times. Points are awarded to everyone depending on what place they finish in each race and at the end of the series the person with the most points will be awarded the hallowed Wacky Race shield. The aim is to have fun, some good banter and try to improve your 5k times!

The races are open to all adults you don’t need to be a SRAC member, some races may be suitable for children.  Most races are 5k with a few other distances up to 10k. There will be six races, one per month between October and March.

How to enter

Cost is ÂŁ2 per race to enter, this year we are donating the entry free to he Western Isles Association for Mental Health (

Please dondate your ÂŁ2 here before each race

Also in order to take part please email your recent best 5k or 10k times to, or estimated 5k time if you haven’t raced recently.

The Wacky rules for this year are:

  • Points are scored depending on your finishing place in each race, 20 points for 1st, 19 for 2nd, 18 for 3rd, and so on. Places 20 and lower in each race score 1 point.
  • A bonus 5 points will be awarded on top of this in each race to the three runners who finish closest to their predicted time.
  • 10 bonus points will be awarded to runners who complete all six races. 5 bonus points will be awarded if you complete five. 
  • The final score for each runner will be the total of their best four race scores, plus the bonus for doing five or six if achieved.
  • If you have run six races your two lowest scores will be dropped, if you have run five races your lowest score will be dropped.

Example final score:

(Best four race total 62 points + 10 points for running all six = 72)

Race dates:
Race 1 – Thursday 25 October, 5.30pm. 5k grounds route
Race 2 – Thursday 22 November, 6pm. 5k street route
Race 3 – Saturday 22 December, morning time TBC. 4.1 or 5.4 mile grounds loop option
Race 4 – Thursday 24 January, 6pm. 5k street route 
Race 5 – Thursday 21 February, 6pm. 5k Street route 
Race 6 – Thursday 28 March, 5.30pm. 5k grounds route


Wacky Race Hall of Fame

2017-18 Adrienne Stewart

2016-17 Angie ‘Bassman’ Murray

2015-16 Angus ‘Museum’ Murray

2014-15 Angus ‘Museum’ Murray

2013-14 Peter Macinnes

2012-13 Alastair Lockett

2011-12 Jim Bruce

Past series final results

Wacky Races 2017-18 Results