Heb 3 2019 entries now open

Heb 3 Registration closes on Saturday 1st June 2019

Registration essential to get a Heb 3 t-shirt

What is the Heb 3?

The Heb 3 challenge is to complete at least three of the five Hebridean island Half Marathons – Stornoway, Benbecula, Skye, Barra or Harris in any one year. This is the longest running half marathon series in Scotland beginning in 1990. 2019 will be the 30th edition of the event! It is a hugely popular race series with increasing entries every year, in 2018 four of the five races sold old before race day. The series opens with the Stornoway half marathon at the end of May and ends with the Harris half marathon at the beginning of July. Each race is unique but they all share amazing scenery and the warm Hebridean welcome, with post race ceilidh celebrations to beat anywhere else!

All runners who complete at least three of the five races are presented with the famous HEB3 t-shirt. Runners who complete all five races will have their t-shirt overprinted with “rinn mise na coig” (I did the five) on the back. These are sought after t-shirts and not available for purchase!

These Half Marathons are independently organised, sponsored, and support local charities. (There is no separate entry fee for the Heb3 race series over and above individual race entries).

Heb 3 Sponsors

The Heb 3 remains free to enter thanks to our sponsorship from Laptech (www.laptech.co.uk) and each of the five Hebridean Half Marathons – Stornoway, Benbecula, Skye, Barra & Harris.

Sign up herehttps://www.entrycentral.com/heb3

In order to take part in the Heb 3 you need to complete our free online registration to confirm you are taking part. The Heb 3 entry is free thanks to our sponsorship from Simon Axon (http://www.laptech.co.uk/) and each of the five races.

Sign up herehttps://www.entrycentral.com/heb3

You also need to enter each of the races you intend to take part in and pay their separate entry fees. You can sign up for those here:

Stornoway Half Marathon – 25 May 2019
Benbecula Half Marathon – 01 June 2019
Isle of Skye Half Marathon – 08 June 2019
The Barrathon – 29 June 2019
Harris Half Marathon – 06 July 2019

Heb 3 prizes are awarded based on each runner’s fastest three times out of the five races. The prize giving will take place immediately after the Harris Half prize giving on 6th July. Prizes are normally sourced from the island, for example, local pottery.

Prize categories

1st, 2nd, 3rd Male
1st v40 Male
1st v50 Male

1st, 2nd, 3rd Female
1st v40 Female
1st v50 Female

1st Team 

Notes on prizes
Only one prize will be awarded per runner, e.g. if a V40 runner finishes 2nd overall they will be awarded the 2nd place trophy and the first V40 outside the top three will receive the V40 prize.

Veteran runners will receive the awards in their own category only, so even if a V50 finishes ahead of a V40 they will receive the V50 trophy.

The team prize will be awarded to the fastest three runners from any one club, male or female. Each of the three runners must have completed the HEB3, running for the same club. The three runners can run different races as long as they each run the HEB3 (ie at least 3 races).

Heb 3 T-Shirt
All runners who complete at least three of the five races are presented with a running t-shirt with the HEB3 logo. These are sought after Tshirts and are not available for purchase! 

Past winners and results from the Heb3, we are working on getting all of the results back to 1990 online.

1st Male
2018 – Ewan Crawford (HBT) 03:50:59
2017 – Ewan Crawford (HBT) 03:53:39
2016 – Ruairidh Campbell (Arbroath Footers) 03:52:16
2015 – Jonny Lawson (Portobello) 03:54:26
2014 – Jonny Pritchard (Stornoway) 04:09:38
2013 – Andrew King (Stornoway) 03:54:42
2012 – Greig Glendinning (Bellahouston) 03:59:22
2011 – Keith Hood (Corstorphine) 03:39:22

1st Female
2018 – Louise Provan (Fife AC) 05:05:45
2017 – Gillian Carr (Corstorphine) 4:45:56
2016 – Gillian Carr (Corstorphine) 4:46:39
2015 – Eilis McKechanie (HBT) 04:37:19
2014 – Eilis McKechanie (HBT) 04:19:26
2013 – Gillian Carr (Corstorphine) 4:34:05 
2012 – Kathy Henly (Portobello) 04:51:40
2011 – Gillian Carr (Corstorphine) 4:32:06

1st Team
2018 – Hunters Bog Trotters
2017 – Hunters Bog Trotters
2016 – Stornoway RAC
2015 – Hunters Bog Trotters
2014 – Stornoway RAC
2013 – Hunters Bog Trotters
2012 – Bellahouston RR
2011 – Corstorphone AAC

Past results
Heb 3 Results 2018
Heb 3 Results 2017
Heb 3 Results 2016
Heb 3 Results 2015
Heb 3 Results 2014  
Heb 3 Prize Winners 2014
Heb 3 Results 2013
Heb 3 Results 2012
Heb 3 Results 2011 

If you have any Heb3 queries or would like more info email: heb3@srac.org.uk

The best ways to keep up to date with Heb 3 news are:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/hebridean3/

Sign up to our mailing list for Heb 3 race updates and news

Here’s an example of the Heb 3 experience, brilliantly demonstrated by Susi Crawford,
as she ran all 5 Hebridean Half Marathons in 2016